Terrelyn's Blog

Novelty Song list for the Sick and Twisted Author …..(Me).

Let me now entertain you with something else unique about my expressive personality…And  now  let’s see how to “spin” this one:(WARNING: You may find yourself compelled to  do various exercises…like for  instance….the belly laugh…..from your toes… to the seat….. stay firmly  rooted to the chair….repeat as often as warranted….the eye-roll…,etc…..or make up your own exercise ).

First off….”Shaddap you Face”.made famous  by Joe Dolce….(perfect for when someone irks you to the point you put your  palm out in front of you ….and bust out laughing….sing this one …they can’t insult you back …..they shake  their head ,as they step away ,while muttering…..)

“Charlie Brown “,by the Coasters,  is perfect for when  you are around folks  who insist ,YOU’RE the bully….merely by disagreeing…..yet ,well you know  how the song goes…

This little ditty  by Sheb Wooley , insists that you’re really that cool “cat” who loves singing about Purple People eaters….. great tempo,but I warn you ,if someone catches  you singing this song, they  will…. take a double take at you ,especially if you are  in full swinging rhythm….belting out the lyrics….

This one is for  those of us poor folks who suffer from power surges….. or hot flashes….. “Hot ,hot,hot”….a perfect  song  which ensures you’ll be doing this  popular  line dance  toward any cool air mass…. (air conditioner, cold shower, or  just chillin’ out, by sticking head in freezer ,for a few seconds”).

“Electric Slide”…..  by  Shannon….. is for those  cool and electrifying  electricians….. who like to dance to their professional  tempo….(???)

“Mississippi Squirrel Revival”….by Ray Stevens…. is for when you  find yourself ,amidst  those  human beings ,in which this  snappy  little comeback of  a song is dedicated,it also provides possible ministry solutions….(lol)………when  those who think their Name  is Better than you…….hmm…Lord Have Mercy!

“The Streak”… also by Ray Stevens….. we do this often, and we aren’t offended when we have to so this…. the soundtrack….. to running around…. well… mostly without the tennis shoes…. all the other things described  may describe some  relationships……(no offense meant here)……but I need to streak on to the next song on the list …with more than my tennis shoes….. ha.

“Alley Oop” Is for all our loveable cavemen…this is the comic strip for them…… totally…the soundtrack isn’t to be beat …with that club.(oops…might have lost the reader on this….)

Ballad of Irving.

Another favorite from when I was a kid …. and I was a PK…. and I never got in trouble for singing this…. maybe because my whole family sung this one…”Bird of Paradise ”  by Little Jimmy Dickens…..kids , say the darndest things. It’s still a favorite  to me now…

I wish we had this as a soundtrack for American History ….”The Battle  of New Orleans”…by Johnny Horton…..I assure you there was more to our great  history  than the song….

hmm…..

This one …. is  what might go through my  head , if I see  a flock of  birds…. and  out of nowhere….I might be  pondering the lyrics  to this crazy little song… “Tennessee  Bird Walk” by Jack Blanchard…I wouldn’t suggest pondering this one too seriously….

Any woman who is my age …… knows this  famous  song , a great line dance , by Billy Ray Cyrus…… it’s just the kind of song to make  your “Achy Breaky Heart” line dance to a much better  mood….

“North to Alaska ” is just  a cool song that Johnny Horton also sang…. I remember my my mom getting into this one…(a bit of nostalgia,here.)

I have a confession to make….. but first…. a question …”Has anyone other than me , or my  Greek friend ,Maria ,done the moves to this song  to Greek  music….during Greek Fest?”…chances are no…. but the Macarena’s  moves went  perfectly with the  tempo…”she said, just keep your feet moving ….mimicking  Greek dancing isn’t easy,so I went with what I knew”….(Who knew??)They had such a great sense of humor,those people did…

For any guy named Fred,,this is one I remember singing, when I was younger ….not by myself,and  I never dated a guy named Fred…..”Seven -Little-Girls”,by Paul Evans….my sister’s and i  were the girls…. and I  have a brother  whose name rhymes with “Fred”.

This song next up…. makes me want to duck and cover ,if Valentine’s Day rolls around ,and I hear this one playing …..”Little Arrows”,by Leapy Lee….(I don’t want to ponder why they called him that…..maybe he got hit dodging those little arrows?)

 

Today’s younger generation(oh, my I sound like the older generation now….)must’ve had some of this slipped into the water………..even when I was younger I felt like I had a bottle of this….and yes mine did  break…..”love Potion number Nine…..”by the Clovers……..reminds  me not to have any that stuff in the cabinet…who knows what I’d end up kissing?”

“Tutti Frutti” by Little Richard… just a good toe tapper… whether standing  or sitting…and  by the way ,try typing to the tempo of this classic , it’s challenging, let me  tell you!~WOOOOO!!!Also  just great exercise.

So…Let me tell ya ….bout…you guessed it… how mom and dad would  tell us  about the  facts of life …. by Jewel Akens……. “the Birds and the Bees”….why, oh why couldn’t we have a song like this in school…. for biology class….

Pet stores  may have played this song before…..a  pretty classic by Patti Page…”Doggy in the Window”…personally ,i prefer the Kitty to the doggy….

I may get really goofy for a  second …and say “I Tawt I Tawt  a Puddy Tat”by Tom Katz..okay okay ,okay, you can  get silly sometimes….breaks up  the monotonous  ramblings of a middle aged woman ……about  novelty song playlists…. and turn around and tell the kitty….. this song…

“If You Can’t Bite,Don’t Growl”….Tommy Collins….. I had to actually look up the  word “wampus” ……..once…. ha ha.

I heard of the”Jolly green Giant”…..Lynn Eastman /The Kingsmen……he’s frozen…….. in the  freezer…

I’m  not the”King of the Road”…..Johnny Russell  is with this song…

Never been to California…. so I’ve never met the”Little Old Lady  from Pasadena”…. by Jan and Dean…I lived in the “other” Sunshine State”.

I learned  how to do the shuffle to this song…. during a sock hop…thanks to a friend of mine ….the song is the “Wanderer” by Dion..

I am related to several Truckers…. so this one gets me in the mood to  go “East Bound and Down”….sung by Jerry Reed accompanies…. the popcorn and the movie….. “10-4?”

 

I don’t care if you don’t like “Julie Andrews, musicals, or Sound of Music”, but “This  list …is a list of my Favorite Things”.Lyrically ….

And ….lastly …I can’t drive , but if i did …I’d be blaring this one …”Hot Rod Lincoln”,by Larry Groce…..but alas…I’m a pedestrian…..

Question: What do you do  that’s outrageous …to  cope with this crazy life …do you also have a novelty song soundtrack??? Feel free to share ,we can compare…..reminder:Keep it nice , be polite ,and I won’t have to belt out “Bird of Paradise….and delete any nasty commentary….. thanks!

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on July 28, 2016 at 7:38 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

