Terrelyn's Blog

Social Media

It is truly amazing what we can come up with,to communicate with people…all the while we encourage the closing in on ourselves version of what it means to be social…to be social, meant you learned the “graces”..

Manners were taught,bad words used taught us ,that it was bad character,and that if we should express ourselves….there was a better way. That there was a mounting consequence if we dared to profane our mouths,which was created for far better things than speaking “potty talk”.

Calling someone a “B@#$!” was never acceptable.Sexuality was kept in the BEDROOM…. behind closed doors…. Memes weren’t phrases on a social site’s wall…. but the House Rules , you had to know, lest you face the wall…..

People don’t hand write letters anymore…we TYPE them…A pretty font on the screen, makes us look ….”polished”,and artistic…yet we cannot be bothered to use good penmanship when we want to send something from the heart….there’s an APP for THAT.

And if …you want to talk to Mom or Dad, there’s Skype… or some other video application that lets you see their face…but you can’t touch them , or smell the scent of Mom’s perfume….the only thing it saves is ….Gas ….and travel time in a car…which when I was growing up,was plenty social interaction with my siblings…..we also played “interactive games” with each other ,like counting license plates, punch buggy’s , and the rolling song of “99 bottles of beer on the wall”. We also TALKED,but not so loudly to distract mom or dad when they drove…we knew better…..

And…who in their RIGHT MIND…..needs to publish ,to all their friends everywhere they go,every second of the day?
What do you end up talking about later on? Nada…. because I could stop you short ,and say ,”yes you told me on Facebook….”or you tweeted with the hashtag : #went to the bathroom…and 30 seconds later :# i washed my hands..and #mylifesucks……..#I ran out of toilet paper…

Yes….I have a Twiiter account….do I use it…only did once….and the thrill was gone….we BLOW up devices every second with “real-time” news…..Oh hey ….I got this and THAT….ok…..you could’ve saved your typing skills for a “scripted” letter in a swirly font…..and taken 3 seconds to text me on my PHONE……..

Forget getting pictures in the mail….we have E-mail…for that….download a whole album…….why not …let the poor sucker print them out if they want to frame it …in a DIGITAL FRAME….. hahahah….

anyway…..

It kind of makes me “anti-social” when approaching someone,that someone I knew knows who knows someone ……that states “Hey …i KNOW…YOU…..”I am like …HUH? Out of Millions of people ….YOU know me?
I doubt it…

If you “knew me” ,you would KNOW better ….than to gossip… you would know better than that to invade my “space”…..when you only “met ” me because someone tagged me in a post???????

Alrighty then!

I also believe it CAN be used for good…….we shall see…

This entry was published on July 29, 2016 at 6:56 pm and is filed under Life, Philosophy, Social. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

