Terrelyn's Blog

Jazzy….

That’s the mood i am choosing to  be in …as I roll out the first blog  for the day ….for those of us growing in the 70s…instrumental music was very popular in the day ….and in the house I  grew up ,we had a professional trumpet  player  in the house….tunes from Al Hirt ,Doc Severinsen , or Billy Butterworth ,were among the  favorites  dad used  to play ….He could rip them out of that horn ,almost as  good as  the other  guys….He had different types  of trumpets…..and He knew  how to toot his own horns……………

We were never in the Army , but he was, so when he would roust his troops,meaning us kids…..If you heard that ONE NOTE…..and  your feet DIDN’T hit that floor….  forget about muster,buster….. because you  were toast …whether  you wore frillies (were a girl or not)….

We would also clean house with dad’s choice of  music in the house ….that place was not a democracy….you listened to what he did ….like it  or not….. ha…I don’t wonder where I get that  from …..hee-hee…..In  the 80’s …his music varied slightly …. and enter in :the era of the instrumental …. Yep ….there’s a certain  album with a  varied medley of all those songs dad used to play …on my playlist on my computer…now…

Little did he know ,his offspring would take his penchant for this  type of jammin’ out ,and apply it as a “dad’s version  of a kick in the pants” when they  needed a motivator ….. or just when they wanted to  practice the typewriter  song …… as they  blog using their keyboard…

 

I highly recommend  this album …and yes …. Google Play Music…has it …

Hooked on Instrumentals ,by Meco Menardo/Harold Wheeler…

If you like the blow your own horn styles  of Al Hirt …. and Doc Severinsen ….. you won’t be disappointed.

***also one of my most important  memories  when I was sick ….. was listening to this album in the living room ,while mom watched me closely ….and this music was playing … not long after that I lost consciousness,and don’t remember much after that….

It was a “mental anchor” for me ….because I was headed straight for a seizure that made a “grand mal” look tame by comparison…I was a kid ….I was scared ….and I was losin” it …literally….most people  don’t remember the exact moments when they start  losing  consciousness  of their surroundings….somehow ,I was intact …for lack of better word…. to place that as some sort of marker …for me …..amazing what the brain can do …under stress…it  goes into certain modes ,i cannot even begin to explain…. let alone  the physiological ups and downs i was experiencing ….

(catches breath on that one)

And I ACTUALLY REMEMBER …THAT……..amazing!!!

This entry was published on August 1, 2016 at 2:13 pm and is filed under Life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

