Terrelyn's Blog

Max

This  creature ,is my sole companion,at least the one I can  see…..I met him one morning ,as I  went outside to smoke …. me in my bathrobe , and looking around at the  lovely  day ….I had heard this mewing….pitiful…. and  heart-string grabbing …. it was insistent…. persistent… a little  kitten trapped….

I inclined my hearing even more intently, searching for this distressed sounding creature , sure enough…a tiny kitten, was in a tree….aha!…. I then went into “rescue” mode…

How was I going to  help this tiny feline, out of their predicament? A man had come up ,as I was pondering that …and he had a dog…. a small one, but threatening enough  for that petrified baby ,to stay  where he was ,shaking ….and scared…

I went to ask him if he knew of  where this little one had come from ,he said he hadn’t..

I bid the man goodbye…. and set to work thinking  of ways to get the kitten from the tree…I was not an avid tree climber,and wouldn’t dare try to in my bathrobe….so I took the sash off ,and tried  to  see if the kitten would get the idea  that I wasn’t a threat……and  play with it a moment…

I am fairly petite, so reaching up wasn’t a good idea…..my arms aren’t  that stretchy…I thought of my desk chair …. and went to go get it … wondering if the kitten would still be in the tree  when I returned… a few moments later I returned with chair in hand…. set it at the foot of the  tree…. and tried stepping on it … to extend my reach to get the baby  from its perch….and safely on the ground….

Just like any mama would do…

My maternal instincts ,kicked into overdrive ,for this creature…. much to my surprise ,the kitten  had its eyes TRAINED on that CHAIR….  I turned for a split second ,and the next thing I knew…it had  gotten down from that tree,and was checking out the chair…

I moved the chair..slowly and carefully,and the kitten followed that chair….right where I had restored it to its former position….

I asked my sister what to do ….I had canned tuna …. so I opened the can and put a small bit on a plate ,set it on the floor…she came up with the goat’s milk…. and I  put some of that also in a small dish….the poor baby was HUNGRY…

After that ,the kitten settled into checking out the unfamiliar surroundings……staying close to the “chair” ,that he liked….after awhile  he got comfortable enough to check out the rest….He was too  young to realize  that he wasn’t a “she”…..and so Max’s  name when I first  got him… was “Goldilocks”…Goldie for short…..I am glad for the name change though….as he  fits his name …..and it fits him…

Five plus years later …that “baby” has grown up…….and he still sticks close to this chair that I sit on,as I type this ….He brushes up against it ,in familiarity……….and lovingly ….as he does so,with me….25941342754_ed716614c9_k

 

 

This entry was published on August 2, 2016 at 2:01 pm and is filed under Life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

