Terrelyn's Blog

Prayer …. works!

Prayer is an activity,which requires  an active participation in the relationship between us and  the One we ask ,beseech,and implore ,to guide us ,protect us ,and love us …this one we  “speak” to ,is God …someone much higher than us…One we seek in peaceful times, to bless and  be thankful….in times of trial ,which most of us have had….

All He wants us to do……is be in that relationship….He is willing….He wants us ,as  someone He Loves to be able to come to Him….have that One-on-one, interaction we all need ,to be reassured ,we are still,Loved,love-able…..and since we are  created in His Image and likeness…in Mind,Body,Soul,and Strength…..we can Love ,and live as He taught us to.

He did ….do something amazing…..and He hasn’t stopped….nor will He .

He taught us how to speak to Him, and with the right Spirit….we can “delight ourselves also in the Lord, and He will give  us the the desires  of our hearts….”Psalm 37:4

I have this name card….I bought at the drug store….with my “nickname” on it… the wasy my father originally spelled it…..

King David prayed, so did Abraham…..a lot of people have…and ,I believe …this:

“The prayer of a righteous  man ,avails much”…Noah was a praying man , so was Abraham….his son Isaac, and his..Jacob….and David….Solomon……Moses……..you name them, they all knew  to pray, because God Almighty ,taught them what works!!!….He said to them  ,”If you  obey My Commands… if you EVER Need  Me…. call Me….I will Answer …you…. for you are My Beloved…..

There have been times in my life in the past….prayer  was said , because I literally couldn’t….it was said  by my parents …I am going to paint this painful picture  for you ,to show you what He did ….for me…..

For those of you  who aren’t  aware of the physiological effects of hydrocephalus…let me  clue you in …and explain ,why psychiatry can’t heal it …. even neurosurgeons …cannot…the best they can do…is  try to maintain it..(Takes  a breath….)

When a child (newborn and  up to a certain age  before their fontanelle closes in properly….)has hydrocephalus… like I have ….the skull is NOT fused ,as in an adult…it stretches.to an alarming size….try blowing up a balloon til it almost “pops” and you get the idea… and if you google this …there are pictures , that  make me  cry…. because I  have seen myself in  pictures  like that…. the pain …is BEYOND TOLERANCE levels…. the only way to handle this ….is surgical intervention ….which is also life threatening ,in itself … means there are even complications with it…

When I couldn’t see….. there was a reason, the pressure in my head was so great ,that it pushed  my  eyes downward….. sun-setting of the eyes….and if that’s not bad enough …try  keeping  food down …you can’t . and …irritable?? um nope PAST that …. your central nervous system …which is the center of major  functions ,is going haywire……OFF THE CHARTS….(a child cannot …EXPLAIN THIS TO YOU…THEY  only  scream and cry in  intense agony ,which is a constant thing ,NO let up.)…Mom  had to put me in a room ,to keep me “as calm as possible” , as comfortable …as was within her power to do…it hurt her ….and my  family…to see me like that….(I  am almost shedding tears,as I write that .)

After that ,it’s only a matter of time…. and immediate response is crucial…. time is literally ,of the essence….

My last “episode ” was 30+ years ago….and I am just going to say ….off the chart … doesn’t describe that one … I am being polite…. besides…. the aforementioned…let me add ,increased  body strength….. a powerful “vocabulary” …..and a fight in me like no one had ever seen….except my parents….that last time …..my parents prayed , even more than they did in the beginning….my sister ,after she had read the doctors’ report….was shocked….she only saw me at the “drop off” point…she had no idea ,it went further than that….she was amazed at what she read …she was a medical administrator,so she knew the terms they used….she (I could hear it in her voice,which cracked,with emotion ….) said …”I had NO IDEA… what you were suffering…. but to see it in writing …….makes me glad that our prayers worked!!!!

They STILL DO…..

Is it a wonder ,they have a “soft spot ” for me?

They were /are  my “boots on the ground” ,when interventions like this are needed…..when I have to be lifted up …in the air …. by His hands(Life-flight )helicopters ,are the wings  by which I was lifted into the air …. but that “birdie” didn’t want to go all the way with me ,i guess….so the “birdie” landed on the ground somewhere else.and into an ambulance I went….at TOP SPEED…. THAT’S when  speeding is REQUIRED…(my  dad can relate….he used to be an ambulance driver,so his skill came in handy with  transporting me).

For those who want to know how this  story ends…. I ended up at my destination 3 hours  later , amazingly ,I was STILL alive…. though at that point…BARELY…..I don’t thing I had an NDE ….if I did ,I don’t remember …what I do know …is waking up ….with a “bad Cyndi Lauper  haircut…. “…and a headache  which ,in comparison…..to previously was able to  be quelled …with Tylenol…

………and HERE I am …..now.

Prayers do work……I am proof of that….It took trust on my part, and the willingness  of people in my life to stand by with me and endure it with me ….

Here’s another thing…. because of someone’s willingness to work on me….other lives are potentially saved ,as well…think about that ….I have a voice ….for those who don’t….parents ….still need prayers….and support for their loved ones ,with this disease….it needs more than positive vibes, and advice…..it needs prayer, because it works….Amen!!!!!

 

This entry was published on August 4, 2016 at 8:06 am and is filed under Life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Prayer …. works!

  1. And no I am NOT WITH hiLLARY

    THE ADS SHOWN HERE ARE NOT REFLECTIVE OF MY IDEALS , PLEASE DISREGARD THEM … THEY HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH MY POSTS AT ALL!

  2. ❤️ raw, vulnerable and beautiful

    • I can attest to it….no…it wasn’t an “easy” thing to write….and truth be told ,I see this as though it were someone else…yet knowing full well….that it was me…

      I have encountered people in my life ,who have asked me “how ….it “feels”…it literally puts a lump in my throat ,when they ask ….and sometimes it’s a parent , who has never encountered this before…like a mother I recently met…in a local support group….I was able to see from her perspective …the weariness, and the struggle that my mom had …as well as my dad…what decisions they had to make , time taken away from their other children ,to focus on the “weakest” one …

      Their little girl ….I am happy to report …finally came “home” …. to start living with her family in their home…. we all …in the support group …..celebrated this milestone…and we all prayed that the little one ,has a better quality of life ….

      That’s the reward in all of this…seeing a child ,beat what seems insurmountable odds…. yet there is a greater force at work here….as I mentioned…..It’s a case for Faith …..where nothing else seems possible…

      Terrelyn

      • I’m sure it was hard but you must also feel a certain relief to get these thoughts out, at least that is what works for me and in a way it is as if we are dealing with these hurtful subjects in a way.
        People can lack compassion and make shallow statements, and I’m sorry for that what that too is what it is and has to be taken for face value which often is nothing.
        Have a great day, running to work myself.m

  3. You never cease to amaze me, Ms. Terrelyn. I love your ability to engage and inform so beautifully through your writing. Above all, thank you for having the courage to share this with us. You are an inspiration, my friend

    • Matthew, thank you…..it never is easy to wear your “inside out ” outfit , in a world that keeps their self hidden ….and puts on all sorts of masks… I ,personally…scare myself ,and Max, If I put on a face ,that we both know ISN’T who I really am,,,, Facades are “make-up” put on buildings…..adding something to the building to make it seem “authentic” ,but should that “facade” crack ,break or fall off” the person who owns the building , often is left shamed, embarrassed, or has to apply another something to keep that facade up there….

      If the earth moves under the building…. as life sometimes does…. the building falls…. the facade is broken …but so is the building …irreparably…..either way … it’s better to be truly authentic….and I have to be authentic….the REAL ,me……

      • Profound, my friend. And poetic as always. Thank you so much for sharing. I feel somehow braver than before. I really enjoy your honesty.

  4. Cool!It apparently never goes out of style…….I have been writing on and off since 1985-1986…..I had this Missippi Delta lady ,as a teacher ,and let me tell you…She is awesome….I learned how to add that “just a little something extra” to my writing….not by copying and pasting someone else’s blogs…..I am a DIY’er blogger…..I might use different pictures….but the content ,at least 98% is all ME…..

    THE SUBSTANCE THAT IS ME…. all of it … .the Good ,the bad ,and even the Ugly…

    Terrelyn

Leave a Reply

