Terrelyn's Blog

On this day….in 2001….

I became an Orthodox Christian….A lot of people ask…,”What IS Orthodoxy?” ”  Aren’t they like the Roman Catholics?” ” In several ways yes,BUT….in some very distinct ways we are very different…WE both adhere to Sacraments in the Church …there are  some differences liturgically…..especially  with the form of Liturgy …we have the Liturgies  of St. Basil ,St.James….and St. John Chrysostom…..”( one can easily look them up on Google…Orthodox Wiki..,etc.).

Our Hymns of the Church are  different. There is  similarities found  more-so with the Byzantine Catholic rite….we do not have the Papal See of Rome ,as our authority over the Church ,though he is regarded  with respect..Our Ecumenical Patriarch is Bartholomew….and he is in Constantinople…One of the  places  named in the Creed of Faith ….along with Nicaea, similar to the Apostles Creed ,except it is not an exact duplicate prayer …..

Some ask me ,”Why choose Orthodoxy?” As if to say,what’s wrong with what you are???” In life ,we  often encounter times in our lives ,where we must make certain decisions,and accept things  that will benefit us ,in the long term…and it was my time to do such.”

It is not fair to do a comparison here, because there are good points to being Protestant, I  have learned a great deal being Orthodox, that I believe I would not  have ,being where I was …Other people have issues with priests ,and the sacrament of confession….I ,however ,do not apply such a stigma to them ….it’s too critical a mindset…and I won’t allow myself to go there!

Protestant churches have hymnals …so do we… they have Traditional hymns,SO do we …I know of a lot of  Protestants who believe in  Angels….and so do we… We both believe Christ Is Made in the Image of His Father….. the Only-Begotten Son of God …. The splits  come about in reference to  the interpretation of Right Worhip, Right Praise ….. Ortho-praxis…. and Ortho-doxa….people  intentionally … put the dividers down ,and say okay…I am Christ …..YOU  cannot be Orthodox… because you talk to the Saints…you can’t DO that… because  that’s NECROMANCY….You cannot have ICONS in your house …. because that is IDOLATRY …..you cannot do this or that ,because it is an ABOMINATION… and I take a DEEP breath and say …okay…

Burning Incense? (yeas actually  we do that …I should do it more OFTEN …)

1.DON’T TALK TO YOUR DECEASED GRANDMOTHER…..  otherwise you’re guilty of …calling on DEAD SPIRITS…. (the saints were  people too ,you know!)

2.Take all the Pictures of your loved ones OFF YOUR WALLS….

3. If you believe in SOLA SCRIPTURA…..(SCRIPTURE ONLY)…..TOSS OUT ALL THE OTHER BOOKS THAT YOU HAVE THAT ARE NOT THE HOLY BIBLE…. BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT HOLY SCRIPTURE…(WHEW)

The list goes on and on …and I say …STOP…. for ONE…. I am not under your authority you gave yourself , because of one phrase you  took on …..to mean that you are the POWER OF ONE……fuggedaboutit…….. Terrelyn don’t play that …. I cannot …the expense is  my soul ….and  hey last time I checked …Jesus Christ is still the Savior of the World…and He alone is the ONLY  reason I am able to take a breath …. yes….I am a Sinner in need of a Savior….I have to admit that ….. because ,some things I have done …i have needed someone to Save me from myself…..If I  could save myself …what would I  have a need to have someone like Jesus in my life ….if I was that secure in my capabilities , of my own humanity …like my physiology …I am a broken vessel with  holes…… cracks ,dents …..and scars …. the finish is scraped …. the luster  isn’t there ….UNLESS He is contained within the vessel…

 

I learned a lot  being Orthodox …..and what I wrote here, isn’t bit  just a chip off the iceberg…….there’s much more.

It’s a day  in MY history ,I will NEVER forget!

Axios ! “He Is Worthy!!!!!!”

 

 

This entry was published on August 6, 2016 at 7:05 pm and is filed under Life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

