Terrelyn's Blog

A day I will always remember #1…

Six years  ago today ,I left a place I knew as home ,for almost 3 decades…people I knew ,places I lived, and held dear…to board a plane…. and fly 1600 miles to a place I had visited  for 38  days,2 months prior……It is starkly different … in its pace…the landscape … effortless….so to speak…

I was sad by what I was leaving…but ,I sucked it up…and moved forward… changing  friends, the family members in close proximity, EVERYTHING ….

I have ,since I  moved here….learned, that progress  sometimes means , moving from where you were… so you can get to where you  need to be…I called my mom…and sister … to share the remembrance , that  it’s been 6 years since I moved here… to the day….I also remember  that night ,when after  settling in ,at the farmhouse ,after showering …  bathrobe, PJ’s  and socks… my sister here…. decided to have me  ride on a riding mower….at 11:30 AT NIGHT….  she must’ve had like three heads growing , because ….I looked at her funny….she INSISTED…. lol… my first memory of the night I moved here…

Many more to follow….

6 years later , I live on my own…something I never knew would be possible… I live in a decent little town…. I have met my share of “interesting” people … It wasn’t easy at first, I can say ,leaving home was hard … the prospect of not having one was always a step away…where I used to live … I have learned to be patient …. responsible ( still working on all of this…) and  I stand as much as possible on my own …. but I  have also  learned not to be so independently minded , to  be able to depend on God and who He has in my life …

By the Way…..I didn’t do any of this all by myself….I thank God ,for those  He put in my life to help me along the way …. my friends, family ,spiritual family….. you name it …I still have the cards I had gotten at my going -away -party…. the pictures too…. I thank God for all of it….Only He could do that!!!!

 

 

 

This entry was published on August 9, 2016 at 11:48 pm and is filed under Life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “A day I will always remember #1…

  1. wow, I cant believe its been that long already. I am proud of you, have come along way.

Leave a Reply

